Sometimes, when money gets tight in your Lincoln, NE home, you look for bills to put off paying. Brokers Insurance Agency wants to explain why you should never choose your motorcycle insurance premium as the bill to skip.
Consequences of Driving Without Insurance
When you skip a premium payment, your coverage lapses. That means until you bring your coverage current, you drive without insurance. The state of Nebraska carries some hefty consequences for doing that if you get caught.
The police will charge you with a Class II misdemeanor, and the state temporarily suspends your license. You get ten days to prove that you have insurance. If you can’t produce proof, you’ll incur a fine of a minimum of $50.
Losing Your License
Besides the fines, which a judge determines based on guidance from state law, you can lose your driver’s license. In Nebraska, you will lose your license to drive if you drive without at least the minimum liability coverage and cause an accident or get convicted of having no proof of insurance.
What Is the Minimum Liability Coverage?
To legally ride your bike in Nebraska, you must maintain liability coverage in the amount of:
- $25,000 property damages insurance
- $50,000 personal injury insurance.
You can add coverage to the minimum to protect your own bike and health care needs.
Don’t Let This Happen to You
Contact Brokers Insurance Agency in Lincoln, NE for the motorcycle insurance you need to stay out of trouble with the law. Let us help you obtain affordable motorcycle insurance to comply with Nebraska law.